You don't need to be signed in to read BMJ Blogs, but you can register here to receive updates about other BMJ products and services via our site.

EAHP past President Roberto Frontini receives international award for patient safety efforts

28 Jan, 16 | by flee

The European Association of Hospital Pharmacists (EAHP) extends its warmest congratulations to its past President Dr Roberto Frontini on receiving the prestigious Donald E. Francke Medal at the annual Mid Year Clinical meeting of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists. The award was presented in honour of his international efforts to promote medication safety and improve patient outcomes.


Dr Frontini, Director of Pharmacy at the University Hospital of Leipzig in Germany, served as President of EAHP from 2009 to 2015 in which time he oversaw numerous important international initiatives aimed at improving patient safety and outcomes through further leverage of the hospital pharmacy skillset within European health systems. Such initiatives included the 2014 European Summit on Hospital Pharmacy that brought together leaders of hospital pharmacy, patient organisations and other healthcare professional associations from around the world. The Summit concluded by agreeing 44 ‘European Statements of Hospital Pharmacy’, which together set out a compelling vision for the profession to achieve, shared by the colleagues pharmacists work with, and the patients they serve.

On receiving the award, Dr Frontini reminded the audience that even in an age of unprecedented technological development, human leadership is still required to bring desired visions of the future into reality. Such leadership requires developing an immunity to the attractions of power accumulation, accepting but not being discouraged by the barriers to progress that can be presented, and placing trust in others to help deliver a vision. “The real judge of leadership in pharmacy is the level of benefit we achieve for our patients… Leadership is not accumulation of power and expression of vanity – it is responsibility.” Dr Frontini advised.

Extending congratulations on behalf of EAHP and its national member associations, EAHP President Joan Peppard said: “In his time as EAHP President Roberto managed to create a lasting legacy in so many areas of our activity. This is evident especially in his clarification of the EAHP professional development mission through the European Statements of Hospital Pharmacy. This award is an important public recognition of the international impact made by his constant dedication to the patient centred mission of the hospital pharmacist. We owe much to him, and are delighted by this international acknowledgement.

The original press release can be found here.

(Visited 14 times, 1 visits today)
By submitting your comment you agree to adhere to these terms and conditions
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.

Latest from European Journal of Hospital Pharmacy

Latest from European Journal of Hospital Pharmacy